KSM-66 is a branded ashwagandha extract made from the root only, standardised to at least 5% withanolides — so a 600mg dose carries roughly 30mg of withanolides. The trials behind that dose run eight to twelve weeks, which is the honest answer to how long it takes to know anything.
Ashwagandha is the supplement where the number on the front of the bottle tells you least. A product advertising 1,300mg and a product advertising 600mg can contain very different amounts of the compounds anyone is actually interested in, and the larger number is often the weaker product. That is not a trick — it is that the word "ashwagandha" on a label covers two different materials, and most labels never tell you which one is inside.
Ground root and extract are not the same ingredient
Withania somnifera is a shrub, and the part used in traditional preparation is the root. There are two ways to get that root into a capsule.
Ground root powder is the dried root, milled. It is cheap, it is legitimate, and it is not concentrated — the withanolide content is whatever the plant happened to contain, and it is not measured. An extract takes the same root, pulls the target compounds out with a solvent, and concentrates them to a stated percentage. That stated percentage is the only thing that lets you compare two bottles.
So 1,300mg of ground root and 600mg of a 5% extract are not two doses of the same thing. They are two different ingredients, and only one of them comes with a number you can check.
Withanolides, and what "5%" is actually measuring
Withanolides are the compound family that ashwagandha research is built around, and they are what standardisation is measured against. A 5% standardisation means five per cent of the extract's weight is withanolides, so 600mg delivers about 30mg. Carry that figure between products rather than the headline milligrams and most of the marketing falls away.
Two things sit behind the percentage. The first is which part of the plant was used — root, leaf, or both. Leaf material is richer in withaferin A and is cheaper to source, but the clinical work most often cited was done on root extracts, so a root-only extract is the closer match to the research. The second is the ratio claim. "10:1 extract" describes how much raw material went in, not what came out; without a withanolide percentage beside it, it cannot be verified or compared.
How the common options compare
| What is on the label | Plant part | Standardised to | Typical dose | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ashwagandha root powder | Root | Not standardised | 1,000–2,000mg | Honest and inexpensive. The large milligram figure reflects unconcentrated material, so it is not comparable to an extract dose. |
| KSM-66 | Root only | ≥5% withanolides | 600mg daily, or 300mg twice | The branded extract behind much of the commonly cited research. Named on the label, so the dose is checkable. |
| Sensoril | Root and leaf | ≥10% withanolide glycosides | 125–250mg daily | A different extract on a different scale. A lower milligram figure here is not a smaller dose — it is a more concentrated one. |
| "10:1 extract" | Usually unstated | Not stated | Varies | A ratio without a percentage. Nothing about it can be compared to anything else. |
| Proprietary blend | Unstated | Not stated | Unknowable | Several ingredients under one total, so the ashwagandha amount is hidden by design. |
The timeline, and why two weeks tells you nothing
The published trials on standardised root extract are typically eight weeks long, with some running to twelve. Measurements are taken at the end of those windows, and often at four weeks as an interim point. Nothing is measured at day ten, because nobody designed a study to look there.
That has a practical consequence. If you are going to try ashwagandha, treat it as an eight-week test rather than a fortnight's experiment, and change nothing else meaningful while you run it — new training block, new sleep schedule and a new supplement started in the same week produce a result you cannot attribute to anything.
The reverse is also worth saying: eight weeks is the study length, not a promise about what happens at the end of it. Trial averages do not tell an individual what they will notice, and a portion of people in every one of these trials notice nothing.
Which should you actually buy?
- If you want what the research used — a root-only extract with a named standardisation, taken at 600mg a day. That is the specification, whether or not the brand on the bottle is ours.
- If cost is the constraint — plain ground root powder from a reputable brand is a legitimate product and is far cheaper. Just do not treat its milligram figure as equivalent to an extract's.
- If a label names no plant part and no percentage — there is nothing to compare, so there is no reason to pay extract prices for it.
- If you are pregnant or trying to become pregnant — the answer is no ashwagandha, in any form. This is one of the clearer contraindications in the category.
- If you take thyroid medication, sedatives, or immunosuppressants — ask whoever prescribes them before you start. These are documented interactions, not theoretical ones.
Reading an ashwagandha label in ten seconds
- Find the plant part. Root, or root and leaf. If neither is stated, that is a signal in itself.
- Find the word "extract" or "powder". They set completely different expectations for the milligram figure.
- Find the standardisation. A percentage of withanolides, or a named branded extract that carries one. No percentage means no comparison.
- Do the multiplication. Dose × percentage = withanolides. That single number is what you are actually shopping on.
- Check the serving size. 600mg across two capsules is a different product from 600mg in one, and from 600mg listed per capsule on a bottle you take twice.
What we do
Verelia Ashwagandha Plus provides 600mg of KSM-66 ashwagandha across two capsules, alongside maca, Panax ginseng and shatavari, at 60 capsules for a 30-day supply. We name the extract and print the amount on the front because "ashwagandha 1,300mg" is not information.
The honest limitation is that it is a blend. If what you want is to find out what ashwagandha alone does for you, a single-ingredient KSM-66 capsule is the cleaner test and there are good ones that cost less than this. The blend exists because most people buying it are not running an experiment on one variable — but if you are, buy the single ingredient.
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Ashwagandha is not suitable during pregnancy. It can interact with thyroid medication, sedatives and immunosuppressant drugs, and rare cases of liver injury have been reported in the published literature — speak to your healthcare provider before starting a supplement, particularly if you take prescription medication.
Comments